Ask Me Anything! (Well… almost)

DictionaryYeah yeah, it’s not your regularly scheduled dose of Emeth’s Home Brewed Esoteric Lexicology, but it’s close.

I get a lot of questions while I’m dancing through the cyber-sphere. I don’t always get the time to answer them all. Often as not I refer people to my blog and say I’ll get a post up as soon as may be. Which… all too often turns out to be never. πŸ˜₯

But! This time I’m going to be doing it the other way around.

I’m writing a blog postΒ in which I tell you to ask questions.

Fun, right?

The only stipulation is that I will limit my answers to the lexicological aspect of whatever you ask. So if you ask lexicological questions, it makes it easier for me. πŸ˜‰

And if you don’t know what lexicological means, ask that, and I’ll answer. πŸ˜€

Share this post around, keep asking questions, and have fun in the comments section!

8 Responses

  1. If I made a 3D environment for a game company and they put some inappropriate characters doing inappropriate things into my level, if I didn’t know that they intended to do that, would that cause me to sin? What if I did know that they would do that but didn’t contribute to it myself?

    ^question I’m asking myself right now. Does the Bible have anything to say about that?

    • * ponders how to answer this lexicologically *

      In the first instance, definitely not. Someone can’t ever cause you to sin. If you do something after doing due diligence to ascertain whether or not it is a sin, and then it turns out that someone else used what you did to do a sinful action, that is entirely on them, not on you.

      You can’t be forced to sin, because God promised that there will always be a way of escape. (1 Corinthians 10:13)

      The second instance involves something a bit more sticky. That is where you are trying to figure out how much contribution amounts to participation. One can use reasoning and logic to try and deduce principles for it, but it’s very easy to start appealing to human morality and cultural acceptance when you start doing that. Stuff like “everyone would agree this is acceptable, while no one would agree this is, therefore thus and thus and so forth” becomes common.

      What the Bible does say is for us to not be unequally yoked with unbelievers (2 Corinthians 6:14). So the principle you can derive from that is this: spiritual agreement must be in direct proportion to involvement.

      Someone doing inappropriate things with a level you made is one thing. Someone who will only do inappropriate things with your level is another. You supplying your level to a group of people, one of whom might use it inappropriately is one thing. You supplying your level to one person who is explicitly going to use it for something inappropriate is yet another.

      You have to take the principle and apply it with prayer and by your conscience.

      Does that help?

  2. Yes! That clears some issues up. πŸ˜€ And again, I keep hearing, pray about it, it’s up to you and your conscience.

    Thanks for the words of wisdom, Jay!

  3. Are we supposed to ask questions in this blog post, or an upcoming blog post that you are still in the process of writing?

    You don’t have to answer that lexicologically, you can just answer it.

  4. Oh! Thanks for articulating. I’m sorry, though, I wasn’t able to come up with any really profound questions for you. 😐

Leave a Reply

