Review: Starfire

Greetings,

Starfire - Stuart Vaughn Stockton

Starfire - Stuart Vaughn Stockton

Here I am again to review yet another Marcher Lord Press novel, and again, this is one of my favorites (no, I won’t say that about all of them, but probably about most of them, haha).

Starfire, by Stuart Vaughn Stockton. Awesome book. Pure awesomeness.

His characters were deep, memorable, connectable (i.e., I empathized with them); his world’s premise, development, weaving, and execution were absolutely stunning; and his story’s plot, intricacy, concept, and progression were perfectly crafted.

And it was beautifully unique: I mean, who has ever thought of doing a high fantasy sci-fi story with a world populated entirely by dinosaurs? I know I never did, but I wish I had. Brilliant idea, hard to execute though. But he did a marvelous job of it.

And then, who wouldn’t like to read a book from the perspective of someone tasked with the creation of a world-wide catastrophe??

These kinds of things make it really hard to publish, though, at least with regular publishing venues. With Marcher Lord Press and other companies like them, it becomes very possible to get awesome stuff like this into the hands of voracious and thankful readers like me. And like you. 😉

Starfire stands out in my mind as a Wow Book. I can’t wait to read it again.

The morals, the theme, the lessons, could even be described as life-changing. Powerful stuff, deep thinking, great challenges.

Another six out of five. 🙂 So go check it out.

7 Responses

  1. Are you going to rate this for the Holy Worlds Book Award?

    Also, I read the sample on Kindle and wasn’t enthused enough to buy it. I’m surprised it was a Wow for you. Maybe I need to reconsider.

    • Yes, I should do that. Thanks for reminding me. 🙂

      It takes a bit to actually get into it, because the world is so different. I didn’t have a problem because I absolutely adore stuff like that. But if someone sees my review and sticks to it, they won’t regret it, let me say it that way. 😉

  2. This got my attention:

    “And it was beautifully unique: I mean, who has ever thought of doing a high fantasy sci-fi story with a world populated entirely by dinosaurs? I know I never did, but I wish I had. Brilliant idea, hard to execute though. But he did a marvelous job of it.”

    • I love stories with odd-ball civilizations, especially with fundamentally different inhabitants. Like rabbits, squirrels, dragons, dogs, dinosaurs, etc. They are ridiculously hard to write well, but some people can, like Richard Adams and Stuart Vaughn Stockton. 🙂

  3. I like stories of that type as well. 🙂

  4. This sounds like a fun read. 😀 *adds to “list of books I will eventually track down and read” * 😀

Leave a Reply

