Why Do I Want to be a Mom at Home?

Baby-global

Image via Wikipedia

* chuckles * Ahem. Well, I don’t want to be a mom at home. But several of my friends do, and one of them gladly offered to write a guest post about it for me. Wasn’t that nice of her? Yes, it was.

Anyways, without further ado and preliminary pontification, here is Kaitlyn’s post.

In today’s rampant feministic culture, there are two terms viewed as the most degrading titles that could possibly be attached to womankind.  These are the “Stay at Home Mom” label, and the “Homemaker” designation.  These two words, when spoken, immediately lower your status as a woman.  Why is that?  When did fulfilling the most rewarding and influential job become a social death?

Being a Homemaker is one of the most rewarding jobs womankind can ever have. Society says you aren’t a productive, contributing member of the social order; I say, hogwash!  These women spend their lives pouring into the next generation.  How can there possibly be no power behind she who molds the future?

Society’s expectations require most people to sacrifice their own integrity and identity, turning them into something they are not, simply to fit a norm. If you don’t go out of your way to fit that norm, then you’re shunned. You have now fallen into a no-win situation.  We allow society to run our lives way too often. As humans we have a propensity to follow what culture says, not necessarily what we actually believe.

Let me ask you this; have you really looked at what society wants?  Do you want to be there for your daughter’s first laugh, her first steps, or would you rather have someone else tell you about them because you had to be in a corporate meeting?  In essence, when all is boiled down, you are being asked to give up your life with your child for a dog eat dog world.  For many it is a very hard decision, one with lasting effects either way, but one that is worth the contemplation. In my exodus from feminism, I have found that a child can never be replaced.  This is a serious issue we are discussing, one that often just gets swept under the rug.

I was once antagonistically challenged about why I wanted to be a Homemaker.  What glory could ever come from such a role?  In an effort to keep my tongue from running needlessly and becoming defensive towards my contender, I wrote this response:

A Homemaker?  Why?

In today’s culture I believe it is vitally important for a young woman to know why she wants to be a homemaker.  In response to said question I have thought out my answer.  I want to be a homemaker because…

I can stop my children at any time of day and say ‘Let us praise the Lord’.

We can lay by the fire and listen to Daddy reading from the Bible as our imaginations act out the story of David and Goliath.

I can be there whenever they need; I’m available for them at any time of day!

I can knit a feather soft blanket while I rock in my rocker, teaching a little one to read.

My children will get to lick bowls and spoons of chocolate cake batter (home made of course, and no white flour please!) and smile with chocolate covered lips.

We can play Legos on an old rag rug that we made ourselves.

We can finger paint.

I can make little iced cookies in the shape of hearts.  Then me and the little people who call me Mommy can sit down and eat them with the goat’s milk we milked ourselves.

We can play with peanut butter play dough and then eat everything we have constructed.

I can spend the time to make the house warm and inviting for the man of my castle who has spent a long hard day on the battle field.

I’ll get to be my husband’s wife, and not the boss’ secretary.

I can spend life with that special man and be his help mate.

I can learn to read my husband’s thoughts.

I can sprawl across my fourteen-year-old’s bed and just listen.

My boys can bring in frogs to show me, or display their 12’’ snake they just caught (no poisonous ones please, mommy doesn’t like that kind).

I can grab the camera and capture that Kodak moment of the boys in a full blown mud fight (no cow pies please boys).  I proceed to smile and shake my head; hand on my hip of course, at those mud spattered boys who want to come in my house.

Then I get to send them out to the hose and spray them off myself!

I can fill mason jars full of pretty honey jellies and preserves, then watch my six year old slather his whole wheat toast with it, licking his lips in anticipation.

We can catch tadpoles in the pond and watch them grow.

When we go shopping at the store I can proudly say, ‘Yes, they are all mine, and yes, we are having more!’

When the kids get sick I don’t have to call the baby sitter or cancel from work.  I can just nurture and comfort them without any hassle or groan.

We can snuggle on the couch under our thick colorful quilt and drink homemade chicken noodle soup from our favorite mug while watching Facing the Giants.

Snuggling is good for the soul!

We can go outside in the fresh snow and build a snow family.  Then we can come in and warm our hands around a nice big mug of hot honey cocoa.

I can crawl around on hands and knees in the garden looking for wooly worms with my ecstatic diapered helpers.

My two year old can kiss me whenever he wants, and I can kiss him whenever I want.

We can put vinegar and baking soda together into a jar and cap it with a balloon for our science experiment.

My little girls can come to me and ask how long to cook their stew.

My boys can bring me their newest addition of holey jeans to patch.

We can read G.A. Henty before nap-time; every child should grow up with those.

I can spend the time to French braid my little girl’s hair.

I can give my baby a bath and spend that extra moment just breathing in their fresh skin.

I can simply make the house feel like home.

I can dictate what I want to do and when.  How many high, well paid officials can do that?

I can be a role model for my girls.

I can raise my baby instead of the baby sitter or daycare doing it.

I will know where my little ones are and what they are doing because they’re with me.  I don’t have to ask “How was your day today?”  I already know!

I want to be a homemaker, because no one will know that man’s heart like me, and no one will have the hearts of our children but us (well, and Grandpa of course).

Don’t think I won’t be busy; my work is never done.  I will have “the time”, but not for worldly pursuits.  I will have the time for nurturing and growing, for teaching and training, for watching and raising my children to grow to maturity.  I will have “the time”` because I have made my family and my home my life.

I wear many corporate hats.  Teacher, Doctor, Psychologist, Therapist, Coach, Referee, etc.
I don’t put in a time card, my work is twenty four seven.  I don’t drive away for work; I need not leave my home to find my purpose.

My job is the most fulfilling womankind has ever known.  After all, my occupation is encapsulated in the beautiful words of Wife and Mommy.

Why will I be a homemaker?  Because I get to be at home, and that is just where God intended me to be.

Envy me my friend, or think ill of me for my choices, but never never pity me; for who could pity love?

I never received an answer to my letter.  Perhaps it was just as well, but let me ask you all a fundamental question.  When did it become wrong for a woman to spend her life loving and caring for her family?  When did it become wrong to be servants of the Lord pouring our lives into eternal souls who will not fade away with time?  The corporate world will one day end.  Will woman kind be found having poured their lives into objects that fade into dust?  Or will her legacy live on in the lives of her children and their children’s children?

Society looks on this role as demeaning, degrading to women.   I have found quite the opposite.  I view society’s demands that woman leave this sacred sphere of influence to be the height of degradation.  Give up my most sacred and glorified calling? For what, may I ask?  I’ve never found anything more rewarding then having my three year old sister run to me, her little arms entwined around my neck, her face nuzzled against me; and she’s not even my child.  I have never found anything that made me feel more loved or needed than my 16 month old brother grasping my finger, his heart rate easing as I softly sang to him in his times of distress.

I believe that women are very capable in the work place.  They are strong, intellectual, articulate, and devoted.  We as women want to change the world, make it a better place.  But I pose this closing thought to you.  Why isn’t strong, intellectual, articulate and devoted women changing their families vitally important?  They aren’t just changing their sphere of influence; they are crafting and molding the next generation, and, by default, the world and its future.  John Piper once said a mother on her knees had more power than any high dollar big shot in the corporate world.  When the women of our culture realizes that women have been changing the world for centuries in their homes and through their children, then we might see a massive change in our world as we know it.

Children need consistent and constant love and attention, parents united together to guide them through childhood so that they may learn to steer by the time they are adults.  Families now are broken apart, and that fragmentation is damaging for everyone. Mothers need to be a safe place for children again; a source of comfort and nurturing.  Fathers need to be a leader and sheltering protection from the harsh cruelties of the world their families are placed in.

When the world can see that it doesn’t have to be one or the other –changing the world or being a mom with a full time dedication to her family–then we will be making progress toward a more productive society.

-Kaitlyn

Deep in the heart of the Midwest, Kaitlyn tries to live out her life is service to her Lord and Savior as a writer and child of the Most High.  She juggles the many gift and passions the Lord has given her while remaining at home to help her family in their daily lives.  Kaitlyn is passionately committed to her younger homeschooled siblings, and is devoted to exposing the lies of the Feminist movement that so many young women and men buy into.  She blogs at http://prayforsamuelian.blogspot.com/

18 Responses

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sian Jones, Jay Lauser. Jay Lauser said: Why Do I Want to be a Mom at Home?: http://wp.me/pthKx-dk [...]

  2. The title kinda got me for a second, Jay. :-D

    Amen. Good stuff. Ultimately, women should be homemakers because that’s what God commands- but the article above beautifully shows that obeying God is beautiful, it’s fun, it’s smart, it’s practical- it works!

    *…imagine that…*

  3. “I’ll get to be my husband’s wife, and not the boss’ secretary.”

    Apart from the whole post which was wonderfully refreshing to read, I think that sentence is absolutely beautiful.

    Thank you so much, Kaitlyn! (And Jay . . . ;))

  4. I’m glad you guys liked that sentence, because my Mom laughed outright when she saw that part. My Mom is my Daddy’s secretary. ;)

  5. You mentioned two titles that degrade the woman’s social status, but there is a third: homeschooling mom. For some reason many people think of homeschooling as a lower level of education, when half the time the home-schooled kids are more focused and driven. At least in my opinion. I’m not a mom (yet), but I was home-schooled until I started college in 09, and it seems to me that at least half the kids in my classes were (or still are being) home-schooled, and most of them are at the top of the class. That says a lot. :D

    • One can use any label in a derogatory way, whether it makes sense or not. Some of our greatest strengths and prides, are the very things they contemn us for. (Not a typo, look it up.) :)

      Very true.

  6. It’s kind of odd commenting on a post that you’ve already read several times, haha. :) But I’m sort of used to it now…

    Anyway, thank you for writing this, Kaitlyn! It makes me even more excited about God’s calling for us as ladies. :) I really can’t think of anything more thrilling or important than raising little ones to know and serve God! I’m so grateful for all of you other girls who have seen that truth and who speak out about it. :)

  7. I had to blink a few times when I saw the title of this post. But then I read that my dear Kaitianna wrote it, so I just had to comment. :)

    I love this line:
    “I can spend the time to make the house warm and inviting for the man of my castle who has spent a long hard day on the battle field.”

    I loved the entire article. It was humorous, sweet, inspirational, warm, and powerful at the same time. I really enjoyed it. Thank you so much for writing this, Kaitianna! :)

    ~ Evening

  8. Thanks Evening. :) I was warned the beginning of the article was funny, and as promised, it was. I’m glad you were blessed by the piece.

    As to the line you especially like, you knew I had to toss a bone to my fantasy life, didn’t you ;)

  9. Well done, Airi. I agree entirely! Isn’t being a mum at home so much more fun than any other job you could have? :)

    • Oh yes! Unfortunately I don’t have the blessing, at this time or realistically in the foreseeable future, of being a mother, but I know from helping out with younger siblings and other people’s children that it is quite a special and wonderful calling! Glad to see you found your way over here Aussie!

  10. I guess a good thing about not knowing our future is the comfort of knowing that God has amazing plans for us regardless of what our circumstances say to us at any one time. :) I know it’s been a comfort to me. *hugs Airi*

    And yes, I’m finding Emeth’s posts amazingly eye-opening. I just hope all my random crazy posts haven’t scared anyone! :D

  11. * chuckles * I didn’t say that to make you sad Aussie ;) I’m very content with where God has placed me, until He is ready to move me into the next chapter of my life. You are right, God has great plans in store for us all, in ways we cannot comprehend. :D

    You haven’t scared me.

    • I wasn’t sad, I was trying to be encouraging. Looks like I need more practise. :P

      Oh good. :) Sometimes I’m never sure if my blunt Australian way of putting things offend people or not, so I often tag “hope I didn’t scare you” on the end of comments. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

