Growing Smaller

Writing Tools
Image by this is your brain on lithium via Flickr

A while back, a friend of mine mentioned (after I had made an observation that was more mature than usual, haha) that I was growing up. She meant that I was becoming more mature.

I thought about that for a while.

And then I thought, “I’m not growing up, I’m growing smaller.” That little phrase stuck with me, its poetic paradox kind of intriguing me.

So I kept on thinking, and the thought grew. And I started writing it.

Like this:

Growing smaller

Like a little child

I’m not getting older

My head isn’t larger

My heart is growing weaker

It is growing wider

Because God is in there

He is growing bigger

not me

God is getting older

not me

His heart is growing larger

mine is falling away

in awe

at Him

Like a little child

Just a little baby

Reaching up

Smiling big

Love bigger than that smile

Because God is in there

He is growing bigger

not me

God is getting older

not me

His wisdom is coming in

my mind is fleeing

away

from his

They say I’m getting older

Maturing into a man

They say my heart is bolder

My head is thinking straight

Growing smaller

Like a little child

God is getting bigger

And I am growing smaller

Darkness giving way to light

You see my life is changing

New me dawning on your sight

Cause I’m not there at all

Growing smaller

Like a little child

God is getting bigger

And I am growing smaller

Like a little child

Like a little baby

Reaching up

Open wide

Love bigger than that smile

Growing smaller

Like a little child

God is getting bigger

And I am growing smaller

34 Responses

  1. “My head is thinking straight.”

    I know it’s quite mean of me, but I burst out laughing when I came to that line.

    • * chuckles * I laugh when I look at that line too. It really isn’t what I was looking for. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Speaking of which, for all you poety people… editing is appreciated. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Rebeka, that was mean. *shakes head*

    Anyway, good thoughts/poem, Jay. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I shall see what I can do with editing…

  3. WhatEVER, Rebeka. I still say it was mean. ๐Ÿ˜€

    I can be a “poety person”, yes. ๐Ÿ™‚ And actually I did edit some already. hehe.

    Oh! I meant to say that I liked the conclusion you came to. In my first comment. But I didn’t, so I said it here.

  4. Eh… just little things. Do you really want me to say them here?

  5. Okay, I shall.

  6. cute imagery, love the way you nail it.
    killing talent.
    unbeatable humor.

  7. Beautiful! Love that poem. . . the rhythm may have been a bit off for my tastes, but the words were perfect. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks bunches. ๐Ÿ™‚

      The rhythm in the beginning wasn’t crafted. That was all just written down without edit. The song part (the last half) was put into meter.

  8. Found your blog of NaNoWrMo.

    Your post made me think. Enjoyed looking around.

  9. I liked it Sir Emeth. Having absolutely no poetic talent myself, I appreciate all those who are able to put their thoughts into this form of writing.

  10. Its so bautiful and spiritually powerful .. I liked it and the energy within the words and your thoughts… the paradox that you have painted it so true.. I liked it.

    เฅ เคจเคฎเคƒ เคถเคฟเคตเคพเคฏ
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  11. That’s a very wise thought. I think I’m going to hold onto it.

  12. Wow. That’s really good.

  13. Poetry person here.

    I like it. I’m having a really hard time catching the meter or the rhyme but it reads more like a song, and I think that’s why. It makes me think of something Michael Card would write.

    • Hey, there you are. I was hoping you would pop up. ๐Ÿ™‚

      The first part has none. That is probably why, haha.

      Yes, the tune I sung it to myself in was in a Michael Card style. Haha.

  14. I absolutely love it! Wonderful poem and so true! If only we all could realize that as we grow up ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. I think we’re all always learning it!

  16. The thought is profound and precisely opposite of what the world would think–just what is needed. It takes humility and a proper appreciation of the penetrating vastness of God’s character to realize what you’ve put down here.

Leave a Reply

