What Do You Want Me To Write? :D

The book

Image by Dave Heuts via Flickr

Hey everyone!

I am planning to write a book (well, several books). I have a few topics for non-fiction books, and I have well over 20 concepts for novels in various stages of development, in both fantasy and sci-fi genres. I know roughly what my writing plans are for the fiction end of things will be…

But I am also planning to write a non-fiction book and publish it. It will be along the lines of what I am writing here in this blog: advocating outside-the-box, logical, Biblical lexicology and hermeneutics. I will take a set of concepts that I have expounded on here, and expand on them, examining all the different facets, and answering objections, and present them in a book form.

And, knowing me, it won’t be dry theology either. Be prepared for lots of humor, drama, and probably short stories illustrating points (you can’t keep me from writing fiction even when I am writing non-fiction). ๐Ÿ˜‰

And also expect to have a hand in helping me bring it to fruition. This is a community project as much as a Jay Lauser project. I want you, my loyal friends, to help me in every stage of this creation. From picking a topic, to figuring out what to include, to helping present counter-points, to giving feedback, to editing, and of course to get all of that you will be getting insider reports on my progress and reading my stuff before anyone else in the world. Happy yet?

So First Things First. What topic would you most like me to publish a book on? Ask your friends, look at the state of the world, at what our generation most needs to hear, look back at my old posts, and think about what we have talked about, and let me know what you think I should present as my debut non-fiction work.

I can’t wait to hear what y’all say. ๐Ÿ™‚

(Oh, if you don’t want to comment below, you can email me at jay.lauser@sir-emeth.com.)

14 Responses

  1. I can’t really come up with any good suggestions at the moment and don’t have any one issue pressing on me; but, I’m always an advocate of practicality. I don’t mind “intellectual” writings (I enjoy it very much) but I always want it to boil down to something I can take away and apply to my life. That doesn’t mean you answer all the questions…just give me something I can apply to my life and if necessary answer my own question. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Indubitably: I will be focusing on my bottom line, which is to help people radically change their lives in a practical way for God’s glory.

      I will do that by talking about lexicology and hermeneutics, but I will do my best to keep it not only readable, but enjoyable and practical.

      Thanks!

  2. I guess one subject that weighs heavy on my mind is the state of the modern church. How we’ve turned away from Biblical standards, and what we, as a new generation can do about it.

    Honestly, I have quite a few topics that you could use that rotate around in my head constantly. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Do you want me to list them all?

    • I think that will underpin whatever I write about.

      Yes I do. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Sorry it took so long to get back on this. :\
      Anyway, here’s all the things I can think of right now….

      A Biblical view of youth groups. (That one of easily stated. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

      Each personโ€™s God given calling, or destiny is as different as each person is different. One aspect of this that’s been on my heart and mind is that your ministry, or whatever God is calling you to do, doesn’t have to be in the Church. The mind set in my Church (and in others) that you have to be doing a ministry in the Church in order for it to be a ministry really bugs me.

      That God doesnโ€™t โ€œallowโ€ things to happen; he causes each and every one. This has been heavy on my heart for the longest time. My mom pointed out to me a few years ago that the idea that God allowed something bad to happen is putting Him in a box and not giving Him full control. Heโ€™s God, nothing happens without His say so. Itโ€™s one of those difficult things to except, something thatโ€™s just hard to understand, especially when really bad things happen and you donโ€™t want to believe that is was something God really had planned to happen. (Isaiah 45:7)

      Faith and Common Sense. If you read the blog post I made on Connect the Dots, then you know what Iโ€™m talking about. Some peopleโ€™s ideas about having faith just donโ€™t mirror the Bible. They say we need to have faith about matters that have nothing to do with faith, but with common sense. Itโ€™s a bit of a sticky topic in a church I know.

      And there you have it. If need me to explain further with one for more of those, just say so. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Something along the lines of these posts here maybe?

      https://siremethmimetes.wordpress.com/2010/02/07/select-names-from-youths-group-by-age/

      https://siremethmimetes.wordpress.com/2010/03/18/gifts-differing/

      As to faith and common sense, I really liked that article a lot. ๐Ÿ˜€ I will be using, and advocating, that method a lot in whatever book I write, definitely. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Yippee!! Finally! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Well, this is kind of unnecessary since you already know this, but I’d love to help edit. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Well, I can’t really give a solid idea, but one of the things I’ve toyed with writing would address complacency in the Christian church and a return to the Biblical great commission: for everyone. It’s not just overseas missionaries that are supposed to evangelize: it’s everyone.

    Just an idea. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Andrew

    P.S. If you do write this: let me know: I’ll buy it whatever the topic (or price :D)

    • If I wrote on that topic, I would probably give a different view than that. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I would talk about how God has a Holy Ambition for everyone.

      And don’t worry about that: I will make sure all my friends find out about it loud and clear. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Very few things make me happier than getting to the end of a lousy day and coming across news as wonderful and exciting as this. =) I can’t wait to see what comes of your scheme, although I am afraid I have nothing to contribute but prayer. I’ll be watching for developments!

  6. So Jay, did you decide on the issue of modesty? Or was that post just for the fun of it? Because I think that it is a really good topic, and needs writing on.

    Another suggestion would be to write chapters on various topics that all fall under a general category. For instance the category could be obeying God, and each chapter addresses different common ways Christians disobey God, of which immodesty could be one.

    Just on idea, if you like it roll with it. If you don’t like it, then roll it up and circular file it.

    PS sorry it took me so long to give you a reply. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • I haven’t definitively decided on modesty, but I do have that on my short list of topics. ๐Ÿ™‚

      If I did it that way, which I think is another good idea, I would have lexicology as my main topic, and talk about how to have correct lexicology in the various chapters (of which modesty would be one).

      No problem! I like continuing feedback. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

