My New Mascot

Greetings all!

We just got a really nice package from some really nice friends of ours in the States (the Manns). One of the items in it was to me, from 5-year-old Matthew. It was a nice little bear (he sent me a few other things too, very nice). I am 20. A professional web designer and developer, a project leader and a rebelutionary. So what do I do with a little bear from a 5-year-old?

I make him into a mascot.

I am serious. I am very pleased with my little gift, and I really appreciate Matthew sharing one of his little toys with me. I am four times his age, but he is definitely one of my friends, and I enjoy talking to him over the internet.

Matthew is a perfect example of a principle that I hold very passionately: non-segregation of age.

I am just as comfortable talking to people who are 4 times my age as to people who are a quarter my age (talking to people my own age is a different story, but we shall pass that over for now). And I believe that is the way it should be. We should focus on family-to-family communication and not peer-to-peer communication. This is the way that God designed things to work.

My gift from and friendship with Matthew is also a prime example of something else that I love.

My online network: my overseas friends. I knows hundreds of people online that I would never know existed if it wasn’t for the internet. Most of my best friends are on the other side of the world (practically), and known entirely through the internet. It is a tremendous blessing from God that we are able to do that now. And Matthew is a prime example of that.

And so, in honor of these principles, and of Matthew (and in honor of the other 3-5 friends I have that are named ‘Matthew’), I am naming my new mascot ‘Matt.’

51 Responses

  1. *chuckles* That is really nice. πŸ™‚
    I agree with what you said about age segregation. (shock on shock :P) One of the lovely things about home education is that on an individual level it more often than not smashes age barriers to dust. In fact, I find that it’s EASIER to get along with older people or very young children than it is with people my own age!

  2. So THAT’S what the bear’s all about. I started seeing it as your new profile pic and wondered what it was. It looked like a gummi bear at first. Anyways, that’s pretty cool.

    For me, I can easily talk to people my own age and those who are older than me. But, I need to work on socializing with the younger ones πŸ™‚

    • Haha, bunches of people have. It is funny. πŸ™‚

      It really depends on if they are rebelutionaries or not. If they have absolutely no purpose in life, I have no idea what to talk to them about. πŸ˜›

  3. Aw, Matthew is adorable! As is Matt. I like his little orange-y expression. He looks like he could be ornery if he wanted.

  4. I can sympathize with Tim, but my problem is that younger people have trouble talking ME, not the other way around.

    Now Jay, don’t get any ideas about ornery.

  5. Haha…. awesome. x)

  6. That’s as splendid a mascot as you’ll find. πŸ™‚ Matt is a good name for it too…

  7. This totally made me chuckle, because I too have been the recipient of gifts from people half-way around the world from people I’ve never met (and sadly probably never will). Isn’t it an awesome feeling? I think Matt is an awesome little mascot πŸ™‚ Cheers for Matthew, and all the other awesome little and big people in the world to whom we can strangely relate and respect!

  8. haha That’s awesome.

    I hear you about the whole age segregation thing. I’m so grateful for close friends who are either significantly younger or older than I am.

  9. Awesome post! I try to be the same way when it comes to being friends with people of all ages. And I don’t know what I’d do with my internet friend circled. God has brought so meny amazing people into my life through the internet.

    I know that bear! I haven’t seen one of them in years, but I know it! We have a set of them, all different colors and sizes. They’re from some homeschool math thing. But it’s been so long I can’t remember what they’re called. Wow, small world. πŸ™‚

    • Amen. God has truly used the internet as a great blessing in our lives. It is like any tool, can be used for good or evil.

      Really? Awesome! Matt is hopping up and down, he is excited that you know his cousins. πŸ˜€

  10. Matt Scott Lauser.

    Teehee…

    But amen and amen to age-desegregation.

  11. Aww, what a cute little orange bear from such a cute little boy! I wish I knew him…

    The Manns sound like nice people, too. I bet they can’t wait to get a package back from you all!

    • Yes they are very cute. And I am sure they are just desperate for a package. Tsk tsk, impatient people. πŸ˜€

      Matthew is a celebrity now. (I refer to him as Matthew the Great, haha.) πŸ˜€

      And it is red not orange. The picture got it messed up. 😦 πŸ˜€

      People keep on asking about Matt’s history, and so I need to talk to the Manns about that… so I know if he has siblings and etc. πŸ˜€

  12. um… I think I already mentioned that they were cute. At least I said the bear and Matthew are cute.

    Well I bet your family was impatient too. So there.

    I know… and you don’t even have a picture of him! So we just have to imagine him. What fun is that?

    No, I think it’s orange.

    Oh, I guess you will have to ask them in that package you’re sending them or something.

  13. Oh, okay. Maybe I’ll do that later.

    No. It. Is. ORANGE. I know. I am not kidding.

    He has an email address? What kind of family lets their five year old have an email address??

    • You don’t remember right. It. Is. RED. * asks Matt *

      He says he is red too. πŸ˜›

      I talk to him through his very nice (sometimes) older sister. πŸ™‚

    • I already admitted this, but I might as well do it publicly… Matt really is red. 😦 πŸ˜€

  14. Yes I do too. Besides I have inside information. I held a certain boy on my lap this morning and asked him and he said Orange. Just like that.

    Well he is color blind. Or didn’t he tell you that?

    Oh, I see. I’m sorry that she’s only nice sometimes.

  15. Yes you are. Colorblind people always deny it. So why should I believe you? Besides, if you said he said he was red, and he’s colorblind, and you see it as red, then… wouldn’t that mean you are color blind also?

    Oh, that’s nice.

    • Red is a relative term.

      But I know that I am not colorblind. Because I have tested it. πŸ˜€

    • Oh. Really. That’s odd.

      You are not listening. I told you, all the colorblind people always say they aren’t colorblind. So of course you would say you weren’t.

      Bytheway, thank you for deleting your spam comments. You have no idea how much I wanted to delete them.

    • You seriously need to read The Fallacy Detective again, because that was an egregious fallacy. πŸ˜‰

      I asked everyone in my family. Matt is red. We aren’t all colorblind.

  16. You can’t do that, it’s no fair, I’m a girl, quit picking on me and ganging up on me.

  17. Okay, that was fun. Now I’m done. (Hey that rhymed!)

    Just for the record, if anyone looks back and reads this, I was totally kidding, and I really don’t remember what color it was.

    And almost everything I typed was with a big grin on my face. Only I didn’t write the grins. Sorry.

  18. Yes, I knew you knew it, but I just wanted to make sure people who don’t know me knew it. Because it could sound mean if you didn’t know. πŸ™‚ (There, I smiled!)

  19. Yes of course. haha.

  20. Alright, alright, enough you two! Wow! Carissa, dear, I’m really quite ashamed of you, carrying on like that! *tsk, tsk* And, I’ll have you know, the bear is RED. Yes, I know, I’m not being loyal to you. Sorry. (Not.)

    Jay: Please allow me to introduce myself. My name is Rebekah Wimer (better known as Beka). I’m a good friend of your little pal Matthew, as well as his sometimes nice older sister…you know who I mean, I’m sure. We go waaaaaaaaay back. Anyway. I have heard much about you and your famous family from aforementioned person. I decided that this would be a good time to make your acquaintance. I’m afraid I do not have a blog, so I can’t invite you to check that out. However, I’m sure you will be seeing pictures of me and my family on Carissa’s blog in the near future. I may stop by and comment on your blog occasionally, although, as Carissa can affirm, I’m not big on commenting on people’s blogs. (be quiet, Carissa!) Well, since I’m not sure what else to say, I suppose I will say farewell. It has been a pleasure. *bows*
    Sincerely,
    Beka πŸ™‚

    • Welcome to my blog Beka! Glad you made an exception for me. πŸ™‚

      I have heard about all of you as well. It is an honor to ‘meet’ one of you. And thank you for acknowledging the truth of poor Matt’s coloration. πŸ˜€

  21. Rebekah Faith Wimer. I cannot believe my ears. Well actually my eyes. I… am… I don’t know what to say. You can’t do that. I thought you were my friend!! 😦

    Besides, we were done! We quit! Didn’t you see that? I said I was done! And now you got it started again!

    Yes, I can, in fact, affirm that Beka doesn’t comment as often as I’d like, but, of course, I do really like comments. But I am thankful for the comments she does do. (See Beka? I am being nice to you.)

  22. Don’t “now girls” me. 😦

  23. Um… me. I mean, I think I said it. Didn’t I? *looks confused*

  24. Oh brother. I did get you two started again. At least it didn’t last long. *sigh of relief* Carissa, dear, I’m sorry to shock you so. What can I say? One must stand for the truth, even when one’s friends don’t, right? πŸ™‚ Haha.

Leave a Reply

