A Call for Help: Epic Sci-Fi Musical

Many Excited Welcomings!

I am launching a new project that I would love to open up to all of you, as I am sure that there are many here who would love to have the opportunity to take part.

I am making an epic sci-fi musical allegorical open short movie.

I need lots of people to make this happen. I am sure that if you are at all interested in sci-fi and this project we can find a place for you. Some of the main roles that we are looking for are:

  • Actors
    • The Main Character: early twenties; programmer (so the actor needs to be able to touch-type fast). The actor needs to be able to act in anger, despair, and with a green-screen doing extensive cloning (he will be playing an army of clones by himself), comfortable with stunt martial arts, and who can sing really well (operatic).
    • The Antagonist: will be masked the whole time, but needs to be able to do stunt martial arts and look intimidating as well as show clear emotion and thought without his face being seen. We will have another actor do his voice.
    • Antagonist Voice: needs to be able to record and sing an operatic villain song. Epic, not comic.
    • Friend of Main Character: same age as Main Character, doesn’t need to sing.
    • Computer: we only need a head for this character, but he needs to be a slightly older man (like a father), who can demonstrate clear, but not overdone emotion, as well as sound mentorly.
    • Client Voice: older man, only heard over the phone, angry.
  • Director: needs good experience with sci-fi stories and with green-screen productions.
  • Copywriter: someone to keep the blog updated with our activities who can write compelling sales copy to get people on board.
  • Choir: we need a middle sized choir (or a clever equivalent) with recording capability, willing to sing in some epic songs (probably Latin) for free.
  • Photo Manipulation Artist: someone skilled with gimp or photoshop who can help with concept art, posters, banners, logos, and stuff like that.
  • Animation Team: this movie will include massive amounts of VFX and CGI, so we need top notch animators, modelers, and special effects artists. If someone has a render farm as well that would be most handy, to say the least.
  • Camera Team: we need quality recording equipment for the movie itself.
  • Fund-raising Team: we need people willing to help coordinate funds being raised to help pay for the services of those people who simply cannot help us for free.

That is just the tip of the iceberg: our top needs. There is still room for scriptwriters, composers, choreographers, songwriters, and all kinds of other people. The best thing to do is to explain what you can do and ask where we can use you. πŸ™‚

I have started a few projects before, and each has been more successful than I expected, as well as bigger than the previous. This one is no exception. There is a ton of potential here. It is already getting off the ground with lots of excited people pitching in and helping out. But we need and want you!

The story will encourage and uplift Christians who can recognize the parallels, but will also reach out to non-Christians. It will present the Christian worldview in a latent manner that is palatable for secular ears.

If you have any questions or or if you are interested in participating in any way (or even if you aren’t and you just want to talk to me about it) let me know by commenting here or emailing me atΒ jay.lauser@sir-emeth.com. We also have a forum for collaboration on all stages of the project that you can join atΒ http://debugger.freephpbb3.com, so check that out as well.

Although I love encouragement on the project, I am really posting to get people on board who are willing to put effort into doing something bigger than each of us. It is about getting true Rebelutionaries ready and raring to go for a new project: a New Hard Thing.

Thanks for listening!

Hope to hear from you soon!

With and joy peace in Christ,
Jay Lauser

24 Responses

  1. Sounds like fun!

    If you send me some type of Character profiles I would like to try writing some themes. I haven’t done any music writing before, but it never hurts to try.

    PS. Have you seen Les Miserables? Is that the type of “epic” you are talking about?

    • Very fun! One of my biggest projects yet. And hopefully the best success as well. πŸ™‚

      That would be cool. If you join the forum we can start some threads on that so all the composers can work on it together with you.

      Absolutely! That is actually the exact kind of epic I am talking about. πŸ™‚

  2. How are you going to do this with everyone spread out all over North America, and you in Ireland?

    I’ve done some acting before (VBS type thing), and I’m obviously comfortable with martial arts, but I have more of a low alto voice, and I don’t really think my location is conducive for filming. πŸ™‚

    I might be able to do some copywriting, scriptwriting or composing (composing is questionable). Have you considered asking J. Noordhoek to help with the script?

    I would like to help in some way. I obviously don’t have too much time on my hands (I’m looking at yet another stuffed-to-the-brim school year), so I wouldn’t be able to handle a major job, but I could do some, maybe help out here and there.

    Let me know what you think. I’m flexible! πŸ™‚

    • We are looking for people, and then picking them based on how close they are to each other and how willing they are to travel. I am the executive producer, so I can manage things remotely. It looks like things are centering somewhere in the mid-east coast though.

      Copywriting is definitely what we could use you on. We have a blog, and we need someone to fill in the content and keep it updated. There will need to be a few people doing it, but we need one primary person to get stuff in there. Does that sound good?

      None of us do, really. Haha. But whatever you can give is appreciated. Just make sure to register for the forum I linked to, and I will give you access to the google docs folder. Welcome aboard!

  3. Copywriting sounds good! Where is the blog?

    I can’t access the forum. 😦

  4. …and the link to the google docs isn’t working. πŸ˜›

  5. Now that I think about it, I could also try out for the Antagonistic voice. I’ve been planning to get a good microphone soon anyways.

    By forum do you mean the Holy Worlds forum? If so does this project have a separate “thread” or something?

  6. This is really cool! I hope all goes well! I’ll be praying you all and the whole project! πŸ™‚

    I’d like to offer my service as a scriptwriter/reviewer. I’ve had a lot of experience critiquing stories and would love to help make this the best story it could possibly be. I can’t promise a ton of time, but I want to help in that small way if I could.

    • I would love to have you on board! πŸ™‚

      Sign up for the forums, and I will add you to the google docs folder where we are collaborating. I am writing the story up in short story form (since I am bad at scriptwriting, the format scares me haha), and having my scriptwriting friends convert it. πŸ˜€

  7. P.S. Where’d you get the idea for such a huge project?

  8. Jay,

    I’m shooting you an email about this idea. I’ve registered to the forum under my usual title.

  9. It’s coming.

    My brother offers his services.

  10. I’m fascinated with this project. Someone actually told me that I should write an opera recently…

    When are you planning to actually begin production?

Leave a Reply

