Come What May

Greetings,

There is a new group of entrepreneurs coming up in the world: the independent film makers. Especially the homeschooling independent film makers. While their quality has for a long time been so-so at their best, they are now rivaling the full production companies.

Before when someone highly recommends an independent, home made movie, my expectancies were along these lines: inexperienced acting, canned or cheesy music, hard to follow cinematography, simple or obscure plot, but a moral and a lesson worth it all.

No more.

The movies being turned out now are nothing short of top quality at regular standards. Movies like Widow’s Might, Pendragon, and Come What May have set the bar up several notches. They all, of course, have their weaknesses, but their weaknesses are minuscule compared to the horrendous stuff churned out nowadays and called ‘art’ by the more secular engines. This is what I applaud and encourage: we are taking back the media for the glory of God.

For the longest time now, I have been wanting to watch Come What May. I heard about its message and wanted to be encouraged by it. But I was not sure what category it might fit into: the cheesy but tolerable, or the revolutionary and passionate. Thus I was overjoyed to have the opportunity to watch it with my church on New Year’s Eve.

I can now say this: it met and exceeded all my expectations.

Not only was the quality of the acting, cinematography, story line, and characters superb to a fine degree, but the message was deep, powerful, spellbinding, passionate, and driving. It made me weep from the bottom of my soul; and it got me up and sent me on with a resolve burning in my heart.

It touched on the things that are held most dear to me, and so the effect it had on my may not be replicated to the full by other viewers, but I can assure you that it is at the very least worth the time and money it takes to see it.

My life’s passion can be summed up in one word: Liberty. This is a wide reaching passion, spanning from the internal struggles of purity in my heart, to the highest reaches of government and Biblical economics. It guides and drives my passion for life and my hatred for abortion. It keeps me persevering in purity, for the far off goal of marriage, and the beauty and power of that eventual joining of my hand with a woman’s.

Come What May drove straight at the heart of all those things, all my life’s passions, ruthlessly and stridently calling me to stand up for them, and to go on at all costs. It brought me to face my motives, and to renew my resolve. It brought me to the calling of God in my life, and placed a firm hand on my shoulder, guiding me into it.

And it should do the same for you.

In other words: Five Stars!

With joy and peace in Christ,

Jay Lauser

14 Responses

  1. Hmm… Never heard of that one. I don’t watch too many movies. :P Sounds great!

  2. I’ve heard of that, but I haven’t seen it yet. I hope to, soon! :)

  3. Thanks for getting that done! :) That’s pretty muchly what I thought you would say, except you said it better than it was in my mind. :)

    I agree with your review of it. We have watched it over and over and over and each time we enjoyed it greatly and benefited from it. -YPE

  4. You’re welcome. :)

  5. It’s on my netflix list and I cant wait!

  6. This is my favourite movie!

  7. I just watched that movie last night! Very good. I really enjoyed it. Nice review, Jay.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

