Principle six

Felicitous greetings and salutations,

Reformer’s Unanimous is a faith-based addictions program dedicated to helping those bound by the shackles of sin to find liberty through Christ. They have assisted me greatly in the time that I have spent in their program and in the study of their materials. They have shown great wisdom in their understanding of the problems that beset us in our struggles in the process of sanctification. One of the bits of wisdom that Steve Currington, its founder and president, has propagated is the Ten Principles of RU. These ten principles are founded in Scripture, and are true and helpful to every Christian who is wanting to find Christ’s victory over sin in his life. Therefore, I am expounding these ten principles in a series of posts spread out over this month. This is the sixth.

THOSE WHO DO NOT LOVE THE LORD WILL NOT HELP US SERVE THE LORD.

This is a subject that is fraught with mistakes, misunderstandings, and misapplications (to alliterate). People get very uptight about some interpretations of this, leading to outright rebellion against it, or to prudish, puritanical, and Pharisaical self-righteousness (another alliteration). So listen closely and pay attention to the semantics. They are important.

Realize that there is a profound difference between fellowship and mingling. This is exemplified in the phrase “In the world, but not of it,” which came from Jesus’ statement in John 17:11-18:

John 17:11-18 And now I am no more in the world, but these are in the world, and I come to thee. Holy Father, keep through thine own name those whom thou hast given me, that they may be one, as we [are.]
12 While I was with them in the world, I kept them in thy name: those that thou gavest me I have kept, and none of them is lost, but the son of perdition; that the scripture might be fulfilled.
13 And now come I to thee; and these things I speak in the world, that they might have my joy fulfilled in themselves.
14 I have given them thy word; and the world hath hated them, because they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.
15 I pray not that thou shouldest take them out of the world, but that thou shouldest keep them from the evil.
16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.
17 Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.
18 As thou hast sent me into the world, even so have I also sent them into the world.


By living, you are mingling. You do so when you go shopping, when you go into the city, when you do anything with anyone. Some people avoid mingling, and they live in perpetual hermitage, but I am sure that I need not attempt to dissuade you from that notion.

Fellowship is, in essence, drawing pleasure and strength from the company of someone or something. It is a partnership. It is intimate. (There are of course other meanings that are used with impunity in other contexts.) We are commanded to walk in fellowship with God and His church. We are also commanded to not walk in fellowship with the world.

Remember that mingling and fellowship are two different things. You can witness to people, help people, teach people, learn from people, and work with people, and not fellowship with them (in this sense of the word). You cannot really fellowship with people and not mingle with them in some way, however. That is because fellowshipping is a deeper and more intimate level of mingling. It is a mingling of souls, a trust, a mutual giving and partaking.

We must mingle with the world, but we cannot fellowship with the world, then. So what does that mean in our life?

Well, what do you do to rest? What can you relax doing? What motivates you and gets you going again. TV? Sports? Video games? ?

Bible reading? Godly music? Praying? ?

Think about it. Study it. Pray to God to help you discern what you are fellowshipping with. And keep this principle in mind:

THOSE WHO DO NOT LOVE THE LORD WILL NOT HELP US SERVE THE LORD.

2 Responses

  1. Ah, I see you caught the alliteration bug. 🙂 Fun, isn’t it?

    What do I do to rest? Read, knit, do dishes, stuff like that. 🙂 Today I read my Bible and then took a nap…

    Very good article, once again! 🙂 I am enjoying these.

Leave a Reply

