Walking with God

Greetings and felicitations of the day,

Now I’m going to talk about walking with the Lord. Remember, these things, for the most part, I did not create or learn on my own. They are the principles which was taught to me by men who had also found freedom through them, and I am simply wanting to share the insights into the Bible that helped me in a tremendous way. I cannot claim any merit for them.

What is called your ‘walk with God’ is simply your relationship with Him. What degree of influence He is having in your life; how full you are of His love and mercy; how much you feel His presence in your everyday life; how ‘alive’ your prayers and Bible-reading are; your level of fellowship with Him on a personal level. Your walk is a crucial part of your journey to freedom: if you are weak in your reliance on God, you are weak in your resistance of temptation; if you are far from God, you are standing on your own against the wiles and snares of the world, the devil, and your flesh, and that is (or should be) a terrifying thought.

John 15:4-5 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me.
5 I am the vine, ye [are] the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.

Galatians 5:16 [This] I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh.

I John 1:7 But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.


There are several things which affect your relationship with God. Search your life to see whether you are failing in any of these areas.

Relationships with others

Your relationship with your parents, your siblings, your friends, and your teachers is crucial to your relationship with God. If you hold bitterness or anger against any of them, you will find it hard to truly meet with God. If you do not have true love for your family, you will not have true love for God.

I John 2:9-11 He that saith he is in the light, and hateth his brother, is in darkness even until now.
10 He that loveth his brother abideth in the light, and there is none occasion of stumbling in him.
11 But he that hateth his brother is in darkness, and walketh in darkness, and knoweth not whither he goeth, because that darkness hath blinded his eyes.

I John 4:20-21 If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen?
21 And this commandment have we from him, That he who loveth God love his brother also.

James 4:11-12 Speak not evil one of another, brethren. He that speaketh evil of [his] brother, and judgeth his brother, speaketh evil of the law, and judgeth the law: but if thou judge the law, thou art not a doer of the law, but a judge.
12 There is one lawgiver, who is able to save and to destroy: who art thou that judgest another?

Romans 12:10 [Be] kindly affectioned one to another with brotherly love; in honour preferring one another;


Gratefulness

Yes, I know that gratefulness is one of the other principles, but it also links in intrinsically with your walk. I just want to leave a note to make it clear that if you are ungrateful, you cannot have fellowship with God. For by being ungrateful you are declaring to God that His blessings and way for you is ‘not enough’ for you. This is base pride. You must humble yourself and see that everything, even your life itself, is a gift.

Psalm 39:4-7 LORD, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it [is; that] I may know how frail I [am.]
5 Behold, thou hast made my days [as] an handbreadth; and mine age [is] as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state [is] altogether vanity. Selah.
6 Surely every man walketh in a vain show: surely they are disquieted in vain: he heapeth up [riches,] and knoweth not who shall gather them.
7 And now, Lord, what wait I for? my hope [is] in thee.

Psalm 34:18 The LORD [is] nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.

Psalm 66:2 For all those [things] hath mine hand made, and all those [things] have been, saith the LORD: but to this [man] will I look, [even] to [him that is] poor and of a contrite spirit, and trembleth at my word.


Openness

You must not hide anything from God: be utterly open with Him. Seek for sin in your life and pray God to reveal it to you that you might repent of it. Fear not reproof; embrace it.

19 And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.
20 For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.
21 But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God.

Proverbs 6:23 For the commandment [is] a lamp; and the law [is] light; and reproofs of instruction [are] the way of life:

Proverbs 13:18 Poverty and shame [shall be to] him that refuseth instruction: but he that regardeth reproof shall be honoured.

Psalm 139:23-24 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:
24 And see if [there be any] wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.


There are many more aspects of a pure and undefiled walk with the Lord, but as you search diligently for a sweet fellowship with Christ, He will answer your prayers and reveal Himself to you through humbling. Trust, hope, and learn to thirst and hunger after a true relationship with Him, and He will give you the desire of your heart, for the desire of your heart will be Him.

James 4:8-10 Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse [your] hands, [ye] sinners; and purify [your] hearts, [ye] double minded.
9 Be afflicted, and mourn, and weep: let your laughter be turned to mourning, and [your] joy to heaviness.
10 Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.


With love, mercy, and prayer for your growing in Christ,
Jay Lauser

Leave a Reply

