Meekness

Meekness, is, as I’ve said before, one of the most important things to learn in your struggles with sexual sin. Pride is your worst enemy, and the only way to combat a prideful heart is to combat it with a meek and quiet spirit. Put off the old man with his prideful ways, and renew your thinking towards other people, yourself, and God by putting on a meek and lowly heart.

Matthew 11:28-30 Come unto me, all [ye] that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.
29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.
30 For my yoke [is] easy, and my burden is light.


Pride is a terrible burden to bear, and it will block your every effort to find freedom. It clouds and blinds your vision to your sin, and refuses to let you repent of it. The most important thing that you can get rid of in your battles is pride.

Proverbs 2:4 An high look, and a proud heart, [and] the plowing of the wicked, [is] sin.

Proverbs 16:5 Every one [that is] proud in heart [is] an abomination to the LORD: [though] hand [join] in hand, he shall not be unpunished.

Proverbs 8:13 The fear of the LORD [is] to hate evil: pride, and arrogancy, and the evil way, and the froward mouth, do I hate.

Isaiah 13:11 And I will punish the world for [their] evil, and the wicked for their iniquity; and I will cause the arrogancy of the proud to cease, and will lay low the haughtiness of the terrible.


Seek in all things to be humbled: it is the best thing that can ever happen to you. Only by humbling can you see the glory of God and feel and use His strength.

Deuteronomy 8:16 Who fed thee in the wilderness with manna, which thy fathers knew not, that he might humble thee, and that he might prove thee, to do thee good at thy latter end;

II Chronicles 7:14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

Proverbs 29:23 A man’s pride shall bring him low: but honour shall uphold the humble in spirit.

Matthew 23:12 & Luke 14:11And whosoever shall exalt himself shall be abased; and he that shall humble himself shall be exalted.

Luke 18:9-14 And he spake this parable unto certain which trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and despised others:
10 Two men went up into the temple to pray; the one a Pharisee, and the other a publican.
11 The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men [are,] extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican.
12 I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.
13 And the publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as [his] eyes unto heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner.
14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified [rather] than the other: for every one that exalteth himself shall be abased; and he that humbleth himself shall be exalted.

James 4:6 But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble.

James 4:10 Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.

I Peter 4:6 Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time:


You can make no progress in your walk with God, or in any other of these principles, if you do not seek daily, and cry out to God to humble you. Many times it will hurt, but ‘the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.’

With love and prayer for your progress of salvation in Christ,
Jay Lauser

2 Responses

  1. Very profound. Top marks on your blog!

Leave a Reply

