NaNoWriMo!

Greetings,

Alright, so this is really late to let you know, but I am doing NaNoWriMo. That means that I am writing about 2000 words a day, and still going strong for finishing the rough draft of a novel by the end of the month. I am half way to 50,000 words! I was actually almost a day ahead at one point.

I am writing a story set in northern Ëcroi, in a city called Shämbaka. It is a retelling, of sorts, of the story of Job. Interesting and hard, but doable. Us Lausers have been doing stuff related to Job a lot lately, including an audio drama of Elihu narrating the story to his daughter Eve (fictional setting, true story, of course). I was planning on telling it from the perspective of one of the servants who informed Job of the catastrophe, but it is being taken over by a whole cast of characters. The story is slowly coming to life in my mind, and it is quite interesting, let me tell you.

It will be a long while before it is edited enough to show anyone, as I am not editing as I go, but simply plowing ahead. I will rewrite it utterly before I even begin to actually edit anyways, since it needs it, and also because it is all in pen (mostly illegible).

Maybe a snippet might leak onto my blog here and there, though. 🙂

With joy and peace in Christ,

Jay Lauser

8 Responses

  1. Wow, this thing is bigger than I thought. I know a few people who are doing it. Kind of wish I was too, but life won’t let me.

    • I know how that is. It takes a lot of time. I was surprised that my parents let me. I think it was only because the story I am doing has to do with Job, which is connected to our family project. 🙂

  2. I started out, but I’m not sure if I can finish. Nevertheless, it wouldn’t hurt to try. What is your username there? 🙂

    • I am Sir Emeth Mimetes on there. Go figure. 😉

      Keep going! It always seems hard (and is hard) in the middle, but it is possible. Don’t worry if it sounds terrible, just go on. Mine is going to have to be rewritten at least twice before it is anywhere close to good. 🙂

  3. Wow enjoyed reading your blogpost. I added your feed to my google reader.

  4. I see on the site that you reached 50,000 – good job! =D Looking forward to perhaps seeing a few snippets posted up in the future!

Leave a Reply

