God’s Changes in My Life

Greetings,

One of the most powerful things that one can do to give glory to God is to give your testimony. This is because it is the sum of all the good that He has done in your life. It is the story of His grace and mercy showed forth in your transformation, conformation, and sanctification. It is this which can convince sinners of the efficacy of God’s grace, although it is not the only thing, and it does not always work, of course.

Every person on earth is living his testimony. Some have already seen a completion of parts of it, and can tell those parts, but everyone is still working on theirs, whether they are saved or not. I am still working on many many areas of my life, but God has shown me great mercy and grace in many others as well, bringing glory to His name through my life. For this I am grateful.

Before I was saved I thought I was saved, and I had many things that I would point to as evidence of my salvation. Now, looking back, I can see that they were either contrived in my heart to deceive myself, or that they were not evidences of salvation at all. Now, I can see plainly the hand of God at work in my life in ways that are only possible if I am saved. I can see the fruits of Christ evident in me, although I fall daily.

God has given me a vast multitude of blessings, which it would be impossible to enumerate in any degree of completeness. So I will focus on one aspect of my testimony of change: my attitude. This, I believe, is the heart of change. Without a change in your attitude towards things in your life, you are not saved, much less sanctified or bringing God glory.

Christ has dramatically transformed my attitude towards a multitude of things. Ask any of my family and you will hear that I have a long way to go, but that I am a very different person than I was.

I used to be rebellious against anything that seemed to limit or control my life. I now welcome, respect, and honor God’s ordained authorities in my life, and encourage others to do so as well. This is especially true of my parents, whom I used to like only when they agreed with me. Now, I love them with passion, and trust them implicitly. I am tremendously blessed in my family.

I used to detest and be unable to relate to cleanness, purity, and righteousness. I could imagine the pleasures of darkness and loved to to do so, but I could not imagine any joy in being right with God. Now, I hunger and thirst after righteousness insatiably. My greatest desire is for God to cleanse my soul and set me free from my sins utterly. I strive after Christ every day, and detest the darkness that is in my life still. I cannot bear the affects of sin in my life, and I abhor the tainting of the world.

I used to avoid labor of any sort like the plague. I lingered, loitered, and procrastinated over any output of effort on my part. Ironically, but not surprisingly, I spent enormous amounts of time dedicated to the pursuing of laziness. I fought responsibility and commitment with all I had, and languished in the coils and folds of apathy. Now, I am a rebelutionary, a young man dedicated to the rebelling against low expectations. I am committed to the seeking of Hard Things to do for my Lord’s Kingdom. I love to wash dishes (actually, I am a compulsive dishwasher, whether it is my turn or not), and I am extremely busy (too busy for comfort).

I used to think, act, and do many things that I no longer do because of Christ. He is my Hope, my Rock, and my Strength. Without Him, I am absolutely nothing. I was a pervert, but now I seek purity. I was a rebel, but now I am a rebelutionary. I was ungodly, but now I seek the Lord’s glory. I am eternally grateful for what the Lord has done in my life, and I hope and pray that others will see the marvelous worth of God, and will also dedicate their hearts to Him. There is nothing so glorious as the eternal God of heaven.

With joy and peace in Christ,

Jay Lauser

5 Responses

  1. thanks for the post. I loved it 🙂
    I’ll be back!

  2. Amen. It never ceases to amaze me how utterly God can change us. When we surrender our lives completely to Him, the rewards are beyond our comprehension.

    (Hooray for compulsive dishwashers! 😉 )

Leave a Reply

