Do Ye Now Nexte Thynge

Greetings,

Today I am posting what I am calling a ‘Saturday Serendipity.” That means that I am posting something that I found somewhere that was very useful and encouraging to me, and that I am going to share with you so that you will also have the opportunity of profiting from it. I hope to do these often, but I can’t make any promises. I will just Do The Nexte Thynge and post this one, and then go write some of the articles on my list.

This has been on our wall for years. It has reminded me over and over again what God desires of us each day and each minute.

From an old English parsonage down by the sea
There came in the twilight a message to me;
Its quaint Saxon legend, deeply engraven,
Hath, it seems to me, teaching from Heaven.
And on through the doors the quiet words ring
Like a low inspiration: β€œDOE THE NEXTE THYNGE.”

Many a questioning, many a fear,
Many a doubt, hath its quieting here.
Moment by moment, let down from Heaven,
Time, opportunity, and guidance are given.
Fear not tomorrows, child of the King,
Thrust them with Jesus, doe the nexte thynge.

Do it immediately, do it with prayer;
Do it reliantly, casting all care;
Do it with reverence, tracing His hand
Who placed it before thee with earnest command.
Stayed on Omnipotence, safe β€˜neath His wing,
Leave all results, doe the nexte thynge

Looking for Jesus, ever serener,
Working or suffering, be thy demeanor;
In His dear presence, the rest of His calm,
The light of His countenance be thy psalm,
Strong in His faithfulness, praise and sing.
Then, as He beckons thee, doe the nexte thynge.

–Anonymous

I hope that this poem will inspire you, and will exhort you to go and do the next thing that God has for you, instead of spending your time and life moseying around aimlessly (as I all too often do).
With joy and peace in Christ,
Jay Lauser

5 Responses

  1. Here I am! I am commenting on your post, see?

    Your poem is also really good. πŸ˜€

    Is that enough? Does that count as a comment?

    Okay, fine…

    It’s a good reminder for me. I like the parts about trusting God as you “doe the nexte thynge.”

    “instead of spending your time and life moseying around aimlessly (as I all too often do).”

    I could have written that myself… I have the same problem. I’ll work on it if you will. πŸ™‚

    God bless,

    Carissa

    • Alright, we need to behave more maturely than this, or people will think we really are crazy. πŸ˜‰

      I have been working on that struggle in my life quite a bit recently. I think that it is a common ailment among people our age. Which is why we subscribe to apathy so easily.

    • Agreed. πŸ™‚

  2. This poem has helped me over the years. I am thankful that you have been blessed by it too. Aimlessly wandering around is such a huge waste!

    love,
    Mama

Leave a Reply

