Thoughts, Clouds, and God

Greetings,

Something that the Lord has been blessing me with in the past two weeks is a growing awareness of the Spiritual side of things. It is so amazing to be thinking about one thing, and then suddenly it is connected with a spiritual principle, reminding you of who you are in Christ, and of where your focus should be. It makes having a heavenly perspective so much easier!

Go look at the clouds (if you have any). Many people hate clouds, and the weather they bring. But my family loves clouds, and the rain. And I love them even more now. One thing that the Lord showed me Sunday before last, and which has been a real blessing to me ever since, was the clouds. They have always inspired in me an awe of their grandeur and massive size, but then He connected it to this passage:

Isaiah 55:7-9 Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the LORD, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.
8 For my thoughts [are] not your thoughts, neither [are] your ways my ways, saith the LORD.
9 For [as] the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

Jesus tells us in Matthew 15:18: “But those things which proceed out of the mouth come forth from the heart; and they defile the man.” Out of our thoughts, our deepest seated desires and habits, comes our lifestyle. If your life is wicked and ungodly, then the Lord commands you to forsake your habits, lifestyle, and your thoughts, and to then turn to God in repentance, seeking His ways and thoughts. God is merciful when we repent, period.

But now think about the next couple of verses in Isaiah, and realize the depth of what is being said here. God is telling us to forsake our ways because they are not His ways. He is telling us to forsake our thoughts because they are not His thoughts. Our understanding is sin to Him; our accomplishments are mud to Him; our works are an offense to Him; our thoughts are presumptuous foolishness to Him.

Go look at those clouds. Marvel at their height, weight, and size. Be in awe at their color, at their beautiful shapes, and at their message. Compare them to a building, and see the difference. The tallest building in Ireland (OK, so it is shorter than the average office building in any major city in America, whatever) cannot even measure up to the height of the bottoms of those majestic clouds! And they go towering up higher than everything, full of tons and tons of water. That is a tiny picture of how awesome God’s ways are compared to ours. So now whenever I look at the clouds (and we have plenty of them in Ireland), I think of God and His standards, and of where my focus and dependence ought to be.

With joy and peace in Christ,
Jay Lauser

6 Responses

  1. Hello Sir Emeth Mimetes

    Thank you for a good reminder to keep our focus where it should be. Lately, I’ve seen that I need to redirect my attention to where I’m honoring God rather than pleasing myself.

    Take care!
    Michael Williams

    • Michael,

      Thank you for your encouragement! I have also been finding myself drawing nearer to my works than to God. Not good. But I am slowly learning.

      With joy and peace in Christ,
      Jay Lauser aka Sir Emeth Mimetes

  2. You definitely are living in the right place if you like clouds. But I agree, clouds are good examples of God’s power. But I disagree to, the buildings in Ireland however small can still be surrounded by those low-lying clouds!

    • Brendan,

      Yes, I thought of that. However, even those low-lying clouds are massive, and carry tons of water! And there are the high ones as well that I was talking about.

  3. Sir Emeth,

    But even if mankind is ever able to make buildings that go as high or higher than the clouds, it won’t matter … there are things higher still! The sun, in its splendor, the moon in its majesty. The stars, beyond them all and innumerable beyond our imaginings.

    I read Habakkuk this morning. Very appropriate:

    “Woe to him who builds a city with bloodshed and establishes a town by crime!

    “Has not the Lord Almighty determined that the people’s labor is only fuel for the fire, that the nations exhaust themselves for nothing.

    “For the earth will be filled with the knowledge of the glory of the Lord as the waters cover the sea.”

    Habakkuk 2:12-14

    • Sir Treskillard,

      That is very true! I did not go into the vast and glorious realms of the second heaven because of space and continuity constraints, but that is very true. The glories of the heavens are unsearchable and unbelievably magnificent. The flowers of the stars (supernovas) are beyond compare in our imaginings.

      That passage is indeed very appropriate! Thank you for that.

Leave a Reply

