IN

Greetings,

Romans 8:1 [There is] therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore if any man [be] in Christ, [he is] a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

I was just thinking about all of the times that the Bible commands and exhorts us to be ‘in’ something. We must be IN Christ, IN the Spirit, IN the Light, etc. But that seemed to me, and always has seemed, a little slippery and vague. I mean, I can understand that preposition when used about going into a building, or putting something in a can, but in Christ? How are we supposed to do that? What is it like?

Then I decided to think of it in the terms of what I already knew: as if Jesus was a clear glass jar that I was supposed to sit in (not irreverently, of course, just to figure this out). I thought: what types of things are there about sitting in a glass jar that I can apply to being in Christ? And immediately I began to think of some.

For one thing, I was sitting on it, and thus was supported by it: it was holding me up. It surrounded me, and that has several implications. One was that it protected me from what was outside: it was a hedge of protection (of course Jesus is much more of a protection to me than any glass jar). Everything I saw I saw through the glass jar, and if it was tinted, everything I saw would be tinted: I saw everything through its perspective and context. It was enclosing me, it had walls and boundaries: I was guided and limited (rules, laws, instructions, and commandments given by God are always for our good, by the way).

So we have:

  1. Christ ought always to be our support. We ought always to be relying on and trusting in Him.
  2. Christ is our protection, our Savior, our defender, our fortress, our refuge.
  3. Christ and His teachings, desires, and values are what we ought to always view the world through, not our own eyes and understanding.
  4. Christ, His laws, His mandates, His desires, and His commands are always to limit and direct us, and we ought never to be outside His delimiting boundaries. We are where He puts us.

Suddenly being IN Christ and the Spirit made so much more sense! I do not know if I am reading too much into this one little word, or if I am totally off my rocker, but I found it to be exciting and encouraging. If you have any other observations to be made, or even contradictions, feel free to comment and let me know! In any case, I hope it made you think about what being IN Christ might mean. What do you think?

With joy and peace in Christ,
Jay Lauser

11 Responses

  1. That’s really cool! I had never thought about it changing the way you see the world in that context! ๐Ÿ˜€

    That reminds me of the scripture that says, your life is hidden in Christ. I try to think of myself as hidden in His heart, and thus protected from outside, also sounds pretty comforting when you feel hurt, lonely, etc.

    • Felicity,

      Yes, I have thought of that as well. Another important passage that gives us great hope is in Galatians: “Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh.” That is very helpful. Thank you for your comments!

  2. Jay

    I think walking in the Spirit (the Spirit of God) is also talking about not walking in the path of sinners (Psalm 1) but rather walking in the Spirit. It’s also God telling us how to not walk in the path of sinners – walk in the Spirit.

    Do I make sense?

    You’re welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Felicity,

      Yes I agree with you, and you do make sense. I think that it is like repentance: which is both a rejection of your sin and your evil ways, but also a turning to God and His ways. In the same way, you cannot be walking in both the Flesh and the Spirit, and neither can you refuse to walk in one or the other: you are either following the Flesh or the Spirit in an action. They are contrary one to the other, and you are on one side or the other: there is no neutrality in heaven or in life.

      So when God commands us to walk in the Spirit, He is also commanding us to refuse to walk in the Flesh, and when He commands us to shun the paths of the World, the Devil, and the Flesh, He is thereby commanding us also to walk in His ways and in His Spirit. He just focuses on the different aspects of each half at different times. Am I making sense, or did I convolute the issue?

      With joy and peace in Christ,
      Jay Lauser aka Sir Emeth Mimetes

  3. You make perfect sense, I however would take it a step further and say that when God says to walk in the Spirit, He is telling us the way to be free from sin. Also note James 4:7 Which says, submit to God (note you must do that first), resist the devil (second), and then he (the devil) MUST FLEE!

    I see that to mean that if we submit to God, we are then empowered by His Holy Spirit to help us resist the devil (though it is still our choice not to give in to sin) and when we do that the devil must flee.

    My yesterday I was speaking with Daniel Osborne, and he said to me, “[You need] to take that step and be obedient, and as [you are] obedient to what God convicts [you] of… it is easier to be obedient the next time…. and God reveals more stuff to be obedient to… and you just keep growing to know His character better… and respond in obedient ways.

    But if we ignore Him in certain areas of life… it becomes easier and easier to disobey. It’s almost like He isn’t even there, because we have tuned out His Spirit.”

    Using convoluting words like “convolute” could convolute the issue. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m learning…

    • Felicity,

      Very well written and thought out! That is exactly what I have learned from that passage, although I surprisingly never actually connected it to walking in the Spirit. It is always fine with me to take things to their accurate extreme, so there is no problem with going a step further. I didn’t because I was afraid of making my comment too long and convoluted ( ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

      Very good quote from Daniel: he is very wise sometimes. ๐Ÿ˜‰ What he said right there in particular is what God has been showing me in this last week: God’s way is always one step at a time.

      Thank you for your time in discussing this! I like it when my articles spark conversation. I am sorry that my verbiage in the last one was superfluously obfuscated. Any more thoughts, anyone?

  4. If you had more thoughts I would be interested in hearing them and risking it becoming convoluted, or perhaps I should say, further convoluted.

    I do believe that the wisest people I know, in particular the wise young men I know and have met, know their God, and they know His word. I believe this to be a sure foundation for wisdom. The bible declares: The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. Daniel also said as much to me in the same conversation as previously mentioned. After speaking many wise things about complaining and humility he said, “These aren’t just my ideas. ๐Ÿ˜‰ [The] Bible talks a whole lot about humility, and it is really practical in all areas of life. God’s Word in general really has changing power.”

    Ah, but I must contradict you on this matter. For God sometimes commands us to do multiple things simultaneously. Albeit not always does He, however He most certainly does at times.

    Your verbiage in your last post was significantly more superfluously obfuscated than the previous post of yours.

    I feel as one under scrutiny with my replies, however I observe that I am learning to use more superfluous words that can convolute the understand of the humble.

    • Felicity,

      The Bible truly is the foundation for all worthy knowledge and wisdom. What you cannot learn from it must be guided by its principles.

      When I said that Godโ€™s way is always one step at a time I meant that He never tells you to do what He wants you to do tomorrow. We need to take each day at a time, obeying with what God shows you at the time that He shows it to you, and not worrying about what might happen later: sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof. Truly God does frequently command us in multiple areas at a time: otherwise life would be quite difficult!

      Does that make more sense?

  5. I think it does, however God may not have shown me what He wants me to do tomorrow, but He has shown me a few things for years down the track… and He showed them to me years ago…

    Perhaps it is simply the wordiness of our talking that has confused the issue.

    Did you intend to say a double negative in your first sentence? (That would be bad English, but never mind that if it is accurate!)

    I think it does, but perhaps it doesn’t make more sense.

    • Felicity,

      I agree that God very often tells us what we are going to do many years from now, but He never tells us to do them now. He prepares us and readies us before the time is here, and it is dangerous for us to leap ahead of His timetable. I am sorry if I confused you: the difference lies in one word: “do.” Very easy to miss when we are using such big words: it got stepped on. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. *Laughs hard*

    No kidding! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I think I finally understand you. Woohoo! It was about time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

