Review: Invasion

 

Invasion By Jon Lewis

Invasion By Jon Lewis

Comic books. They are pretty cool…

 

until they stop being comic books and become real books. Then they are only sorta cool. If done right.

See, there is a lot of stuff that you can put into a comic book that makes it really awesome. Big explosions, cool costumes, the way the hero holds his gun just so, etcetera. You can even get some of those things into movies (though there are a bunch of other cool things you can put in one, but not the other, and vice versa, so it isn’t a one-to-one correlation).

But those kinds of things are ridiculously hard to make interesting in a regular book.

Invasion, thankfully, wasn’t as bad as it could have been, being one of those kinds of books. If it had been a comic book, its irony alone (being about comic book heroes and villains being real) would have made it interesting to say the least. But as a regular book, in my view, it should have taken advantage of all the unique things that regular books have to offer authors.

It was exciting, but shallow for someone who is used to Lord of the Rings and the Dark Trench Saga (Kerry Nietz). Younger readers who don’t want to go over their heads should be interested in it, though, as it is a good, clean, fun novel to read.

(And many thanks to BookSneeze for getting me the book for free so I could review it for them: I didn’t have to be nice, haha.)

 

 

7 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jay Lauser, Jay Lauser. Jay Lauser said: Review: Invasion: http://wp.me/pthKx-dN […]

  2. Comic books!! Woo! :D

    *cough* Do excuse my inner child. ;)

    Anyway, this looks very interesting! I love comic books, and I find them highly entertaining because they are so much like a movie. Sometimes one picture can mean a thousand words.

    But nothing beats a good read, either. So I might track this down for my younger siblings. :)

  3. Cool. I love super heroes and comic books. I may check it out someday.

  4. I like your transitions and quality. I have been producing for Ghost Writers for a while now, and they pay me well to write blog posts like this, or articles. I clear $100-$200 on a awful morning.
    Judging by your skill with the written word, you may enjoy doing the same.
    It wouldnt hurt to check them out.Here are the details

    • Hello Mr. Spam. I have checked out your site, and it does look interesting. I probably won’t be using your services at this time though.

      I would like to commend you for your exemplary sales copy, but I just thought I might let you know that it lost its way. Methinks you intended it for Google Adwords? Blog comments isn’t exactly the best place for advertising. Just a tip. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

