I Am In Love!

I like to put riddles in my statuses, and yesterday was no exception. I posted a short, 42 character message to twitter, buzz, and facebook, and sparked an explosion of responses like none other. The status was this:

“I have a girlfriend; I am in love; she is perfect.”

Some who knew me very well immediately concluded, rightly, that this could not be taken literally.

Others were not sure, thinking that I might possibly, somehow be serious.

Some guessed that the ‘she’ was a new technology, an animal, a boat, a car, the Church, and any number of random and incorrect ideas.

Most were frantic for me to reveal the answer, a couple were bright enough to actually figure it out.

It was very fun.

But now is the time for me to reveal the answer.

She is a ‘her.’ Not an ‘it.’

She is not human.

Nonetheless she is my girlfriend, nonetheless I do love her, and she is perfect.

Her name is:

Wisdom.

Go ahead and kick yourself. :)

Proverbs 4:6-9 Forsake her not, and she shall preserve thee: love her, and she shall keep thee.

7 Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.

8 Exalt her, and she shall promote thee: she shall bring thee to honour, when thou dost embrace her.

9 She shall give to thine head an ornament of grace: a crown of glory shall she deliver to thee.

Proverbs 8:1-11 Doth not wisdom cry? and understanding put forth her voice?

2 She standeth in the top of high places, by the way in the places of the paths.

3 She crieth at the gates, at the entry of the city, at the coming in at the doors.

4 Unto you, O men, I call; and my voice is to the sons of man.

5 O ye simple, understand wisdom: and, ye fools, be ye of an understanding heart.

6 Hear; for I will speak of excellent things; and the opening of my lips shall be right things.

7 For my mouth shall speak truth; and wickedness is an abomination to my lips.

8 All the words of my mouth are in righteousness; there is nothing froward or perverse in them.

9 They are all plain to him that understandeth, and right to them that find knowledge.

10 Receive my instruction, and not silver; and knowledge rather than choice gold.

11 For wisdom is better than rubies; and all the things that may be desired are not to be compared to it.

Wisdom is represented as a gracious woman throughout Proverbs. She is said to have been there with God before time began, and to have worked with him in the creation of the world. And we are commanded to love her, to embrace her, to dedicate ourselves to her.

And yes, we are commanded to consider her as our sister, our kinswoman, which is well within the limits of the definition of the word ‘girlfriend.’ ;)

Wisdom is valuable knowledge or skill (Prudence is knowing how to avoid evil), plain and simple. People try to give it other meanings, but they aren’t really supported from the Biblical use of the word. The Wisdom character in Proverbs, if you really study her out, is one of the attributes and aspects of God Himself.

God supplies our every relational need. He is our Father, our King, our Brother, our Betrothed, and… our Sister. Pretty cool.

So, what are your thoughts? How can we act out this very interesting relationship with Wisdom in real life?

31 Responses

  1. I just KNEW there was a catch to that phrase, thus the lack of commenting on FB. :P Great one Sir Emeth!

  2. Haha, Jay!!!!! That was GREAT! :D Very creative, very well played! :) :)

  3. Oh, absolutely. :D :P Though I kicked myself pretty good, too. :P

  4. LOL Jay,

    I was like, whoa… when I saw that title in my RSS feed. LOL Then I read the post and understood. ;)

    Haha, on FB, under the relationship thing, you should say “In a relationship with Wisdom” LOL

    Great post!

  5. Okay, Sir Emeth, you had me fooled. But that was brilliant, so I’ll forgive you this time. :D

    Great post! :)

  6. Great post, Jay! I’ve been reading through Proverbs, and the importance of being madly in love with wisdom has never been more clear to me than now. Wisdom is the path to life, but we have to be purposeful to stay on it. It’s totally worth it, though! :D Thanks again for the excellent post!

  7. HA. Ouch. Duh. Good one. Teehee…

  8. Hahaha, great post! Wisdom is most definitely of “sumo importancia” and that being so, not the easiest thing to obtain. It is so necessary for us to really seek out wisdom, even in the same way we would a lover :) !
    Blessings!

  9. Awesome! You really have some good incites!

  10. The interesting thing is that I had just been praying for wisdom for you the day you started this whole thing. :)

  11. Okay, that was great. Good one. :)

    I love how you described wisdome though. Well put.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

