Principle Two

Felicitous greetings and salutations,

Reformer’s Unanimous is a faith-based addictions program dedicated to helping those bound by the shackles of sin to find liberty through Christ. They have assisted me greatly in the time that I have spent in their program and in the study of their materials. They have shown great wisdom in their understanding of the problems that beset us in our struggles in the process of sanctification. One of the bits of wisdom that Steve Currington, its founder and president, has propagated is the Ten Principles of RU. These ten principles are founded in Scripture, and are true and helpful to every Christian who is wanting to find Christ’s victory over sin in his life. Therefore, I am expounding these ten principles in a series of posts spread out over this month. This is the second.

EVERY SIN HAS ITS ORIGIN IN OUR HEARTS.

(Before You Did It, You Thunk It.)

Proverbs 4:23 Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it [are] the issues of life.

Matthew 15:19-20 For out of the heart proceed evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornications, thefts, false witness, blasphemies:
20 These are [the things] which defile a man: but to eat with unwashen hands defileth not a man.


Micah 2:1 Woe to them that devise iniquity, and work evil upon their beds! when the morning is light, they practice it, because it is in the power of their hand.

You cannot hope to remain pure from sin if you meditate on it and allow your mind to frame sin in your mind. What do I mean by that? If you allow yourself to think about how you could do this, or you could get away with this this way, or what would it be like if I did this, etc., you are allowing yourself to do it when those opportunities come upon you. You are paving the road to sin, which is sin in itself.

You must nip it in the bud, to borrow the colloquialism. Take every thought captive, bringing it to God on your knees in surrender. You cannot do this in your own strength (and if you did, you would only be making the situation worse). You must give it utterly to God, realizing that He alone has the strength to bring you through.

Psalms 18:1-3 I will love thee, O LORD, my strength.
2 The LORD [is] my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, [and] my high tower.
3 I will call upon the LORD, [who is worthy] to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.


Joyfully resting in Christ,

Jay Lauser

What should I write?

Many and varied felicitous greetings,

I like to write, and I wish I had more time to indulge in that profitable pastime on this blog. But, alas, I am running out of time fast. But I do have some time, and that time which I have I want to prioritize and utilize to its fullest advantage. Therefore, I want to ask you, my readers, to tell me what you would like me to write about.

You know my scope is wide. But you also know that I have little time to write. So be judicious in your requests. On the other hand, I can sort all that out, so throw everything at me. :)

What should I write about?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers